Canadian Marine Shipping Risk Forum Workshop Series: Creating an Inventory of Marine Shipping Risk Resources


You are cordially invited to participate in a free, two-hour online workshop, Creating an Inventory of Marine Shipping Risk Resources, hosted by the Canadian Marine Shipping Risk Forum (CMSRF) on December 3, 2020 beginning at 9:30 am PT / 12:30 pm ET / 1:30 pm AT / 2:00 pm NT.

The aim of this first workshop is to bring together representatives of provincial and federal government agencies; Indigenous governments, nations, and organizations; researchers; and other relevant organizations, from across Canada working on topics related to maritime shipping, in order to develop an inventory of initiatives and information resources on maritime shipping risk. Currently, information and initiatives are scattered among sectors and fields, covering a diversity of risk-related topics. An inventory is the first step towards building a body of knowledge around marine shipping risk information.

This two-hour workshop will include short presentations by the workshop hosts highlighting shipping risk initiatives undertaken by academic researchers (MEOPAR); Transport Canada; and Clear Seas.  This is followed by an opportunity for participants to join in small breakout group discussions focused around identifying shipping risk initiatives in Canada; information resources; risk frameworks; and common risk-related terminology. 

Presenters 

  1. Paul Blomerus – Clear Seas
  2. Michael Wallace – Transport Canada
  3. Ron Pelot, Professor, MEOPAR
  4. Floris Goerlandt – Assistant Professor, Dalhousie University, MEOPAR
REGISTER NOW
For more information please email canadianmarineshippingrisk@gmail.com