Skip to main content
News

Upcoming webinar: Rational & Irrational Choice in Flood Risk Management

By September 2, 2021No Comments

Join the Canadian Coastal Resilience Forum for their next webinar, Rational & Irrational Choice in Flood Risk Management, presented by Dr. Craig Landry on Wednesday, September 29 at 10am Pacific/1pm Eastern/2pm Atlantic.

Although flood insurance has been available for decades in the United States, many households who live in high-risk areas have not purchased flood insurance coverage, despite mandatory purchase provisions that affect many. Dr. Craig Landry, a professor and natural resource economist from the University of Georgia, has been researching how people make flood risk management decisions, such as the choice to buy flood insurance coverage or not. In this webinar, Dr. Landry will discuss how individual expectations, perceptions, and beliefs influence personal choices in flood risk management and how social scientists can model such decisions to learn about underlying factors that motivate self-protection (or a lack thereof).

Presenter:
Dr. Craig Landry, Professor at the University of Georgia